Michelle Obama: Galactic gladiator…and I love it!

Today marked the second Inauguration of Barack Obama as President of the United States.  It falls on the day that we celebrate the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  It also falls on the first full day of this conference I am attending…fun times.

I used the morning coffee break to catch up on the “goings on” across the country and in DC.  I felt proud, encouraged, challenged and a little bit envious.  THEN I saw Michelle Obama!  Poised and regal as ever, Mrs. Obama was channeling something a little different today:  galactic gladiator.  I think of Star Trek and The Matrix with elegance.  The queen of the day who is ready for any battle that comes her way.  I am sure I am flexing my geek muscles, but I don’t care.

From the bangs to the metallic jacket and THOSE BOOTS!!  The aubergine gloves and jeweled belt were amazing touches.  It’s an inspiring look.  And more than a look, it’s a message.  Powerful.  Intellectual.  Strong.  Individual.  Intentional.  It’s a message in a beautiful, glowing package.

michelle-obama-thom-browne-inauguration2-h724

from glamour.com

Leave a Reply

